Unit 8: Esteem & Actualization

This unit introduces students to upper layers of Maslow’s Hierarchy. Esteem and actualization are realized as we demonstrate character, citizenship, and civility, as well as how we express gratitude for the world and create opportunities to contribute to those around us. As part of this final unit, students will create a peak culminating experience that […]

Unit 7: Academic Well-Being

Academic well-being includes the behaviors and mindsets that help students acquire the knowledge and skills to be successful in an academic setting. Lesson topics include active learning, creativity and problem solving, being responsible, and goal setting. Scope & Sequence Parent Guide

Unit 6: Mental Well-Being

Mental well-being refers to the brain’s thinking, processing, and learning systems. This unit includes lessons on critical thinking, growth mindset, agency, and mindfulness. Scope & Sequence Parent Guide

Unit 5: Emotional Well-Being

Emotional well-being is identifying, understanding, and managing inner feelings, thoughts, and emotions. This unit includes lessons on identifying and regulating emotions, habits of happiness, adjusting to change, as well as resilience, perseverance, and grit. Scope & Sequence Parent Guide

Unit 4: Social Well-Being

Social well-being reflects our interactions with others, including the ways we engage in positive relationships of belonging and connection, resolve conflicts, and manage responses to various interpersonal situations. The lessons in this unit explore the skills of communication, empathy, respect for others, and collaboration. Scope & Sequence Parent Guide

Unit 3: Physical Well-Being

Physical well-being refers to the physical wellness and health of our body and includes active and deliberate efforts to eat nutritious foods, practice consistent habits of self-care and hygiene, exercise regularly, and manage sleep and stress. Scope & Sequence Parent Guide

Unit 2: Creating the Conditions for Well-Being

This unit includes a review of Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs as a framework for establishing the conditions needed for teachers and students to be their best selves and to do their best work. When these conditions are in place, we can begin to address and deliberately acquire well-being skills and dispositions. Scope & Sequence Parent […]

Unit 1: Innate Needs

This unit includes an introduction to the concept of innate needs as well as to Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. An introduction to the In Focus well-being framework is also included in this unit that provides a roadmap for the learning throughout the year. Scope & Sequence Parent Guide

Curriculum Connections - Unit 1: Innate Needs